If you want to unsupervise your iPhone, use these instructions.
What does unsupervising an iPhone or iPad do?
- It removes the "This device is supervised and managed by Tech Lockdown" message that appears in the Settings app
- It ensures all config files are removed (although this can be done without unsupervising the device first)
If you'd like to disconnect your iPhone (or iPad) from Tech Lockdown entirely, also see disconnecting an iPhone.
If you're not using Remote Supervision, see the Legacy Unsupervision Tool section.
If you are using Remote Supervision, see the Unsupervise from Remote Supervision section.
Legacy Unsupervision Tool
Support needs to provide you with a PIN to completely unsupervise your iPhone, but the Supervision tool can also be used to unsupervise your iPhone as well.
- On your iPhone, remove any currently installed configs using these instructions: Uninstall Config Files on iOS
- Download and run the Supervised Mode Manager tool
- Create a ticket with support for access to the PIN code you will need
Here's where you can download:
If you have a Mac computer...
- Double-click the file to open the application.
- Follow the instructions to unsupervise your iPhone.
If you have a Windows computer...
Note: If you have a Windows computer, please also download iTunes. The tool will not work otherwise.
- Ensure that you open iTunes and accept the EULA
- Run the application from your downloads folder
- Follow the instructions to unsupervise your iPhone.
Unsupervise from Remote Supervision
- First, ensure that your Tech Lockdown profile is unlocked.
- On the Tech Lockdown dashboard, go to the Devices section and select your device.
- Choose the "Disconnect Device" button near the very bottom of the page and confirm.
It may take several minutes to disconnect your device fully, but to speed things up, make sure the iPhone you're trying to disconnect is powered on, unlocked, and connected to the internet. You may also want to refresh the page on Tech Lockdown's dashboard.
You'll probably notice that all restrictions disappear from your device at this point, but you may still want to remove supervision entirely:
- Select Remove supervision completely to proceed
You should see a randomly-generated code like the one below:
- Download the Supervised Mode Manager. Download for Mac here. Download for Windows here.
-
Select Disable Supervised Mode
- Follow the instructions in the tool and enter the code from the Tech Lockdown dashboard when prompted