If you are part of early access for Remote Supervision, there was a recent change made on iOS 27 that adjusts the remote supervision behavior requiring some users to work around this or to at least know the limitations.
If you already set up remote supervision prior to updating to iOS 27, you should not be affected by this change (you remotely supervised your device on iOS 26, then updated to iOS 27). This will affect devices that are remotely supervised for the first time while running iOS 27. It does not impact normal supervised devices either, this is strictly related to Remote Supervision.
Basically, prior to iOS 27, we could prevent a user from going into settings, viewing the MDM profile, and tapping "Remove Management." The button existed, but tapping it didn't do anything. This is ideal since it prevents easy bypass.
Unfortunately, with the release of iOS 27, tapping "Remove Management" in settings actually disconnects the device, and we haven't found a workaround yet.
We're working on some solutions to this problem, such as:
- Quickly alerting an accountability partner/parent as soon as a device disconnects.
- Shipping a companion app for iOS that enforces Remote Supervision by locking down the device if the user tapped "Remove Management" in settings to opt out of remote supervision. We have a viable app concept in mind and are working on it.
- Combining remote supervision with manual configs, which are still effective alongside Supervised Mode.
If you absolutely want access to a locked on "Remove Management" button like the behavior previously, you could work around this by downgrading to iOS 26, remotely supervising, then updating to iOS 27 again.
We are very disappointed by the change Apple decided to make, but are optimistic that there is a path forward with alerts, a companion app, and a combination approach that works alongside manual configs.