The Config Generator can be used to disable many features on iOS that are normally used to prevent restrictions from being disabled:
- Prevent the iPhone from being Factory Reset from the Settings app
- Prevent a computer from pairing with the iPhone
- Block apps that would normally be used to sync your config (for example, the Camera and Safari app)
- Misconfigure the Content Policy to prevent a device from syncing with Remote Supervision
In some rare cases, it is possible to "brick" your iPhone in such a way that it's not possible to fix it using the normal syncing process. However, there is still an option available to fix your iPhone, but unfortunately, it involves completely resetting the device. Before you go to the effort of resetting your iPhone, please check these things:
- Uninstall any config presets you have installed (if possible). These will have names like "Protect Cloudflare VPN", "Prevent VPN Creation", or "Web Content Filter", and can be found on your iPhone by going to Settings > General > VPN & Device Management. Use these instructions.
- Take steps to remove config files generated using the Config Generator (if possible). You can use these instructions.
- If your iPhone can't download config files, check that there isn't an "Internet Downtime" rule active on your Content Policy. Also, temporarily disable all block rules on your Content Policy, as it's possible that one of them is unintentionally affecting your iPhone's ability to sync.
- Flush the DNS cache on your iPhone by turning on Airplane mode, waiting about 15 seconds, turning off Airplane mode, and then connecting back to Wi-Fi. Try removing config files again.
- Check Screen Time restrictions by going to Settings > Screen Time. Note if you've blocked Tech Lockdown's website or have set "Only Allowed Websites" (Screen Time > Apps & Websites > Restrictions).
- If your iPhone has the Cloudflare One VPN set up, try turning the VPN off. Note that you may need to check Tech Lockdown's App Preference settings.
(1) Create a Backup or Check Backup Status
If you recently used the Supervised Mode Manager Tool, one of the recommended steps is to create a backup using iCloud, so you can restore from that backup after resetting your iPhone.
If possible, try to sync data to your Apple account and create a backup. You can do this on your iPhone by going to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup. You should also ensure your personal data is saved under Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Saved to iCloud. If you've had iCloud sync set up on your iPhone previously, then you should check the last time a backup was saved.
In most cases, you can also create a backup to either a Mac or Windows PC. See this Apple Support doc for more details.
(2) Put your iPhone into Recovery Mode
Use these instructions to put your iPhone into Recovery Mode.
(3) Restore your iPhone
If you have a Mac computer, use these instructions to restore your iPhone.
If you have a Windows PC, use these instructions to restore your iPhone.